Happy Go for Broke Day!

5 Apr

April 5th: Happy Go for Broke Day!

Today is a day all about taking chances.  Play the lottery.  Tell someone you love them.  Ask for a raise.  Today is the day to put it all on the line, cross your fingers and hope for the best.

I am celebrating this day myself with an exciting yet terrifying announcement that many of my friends at Northwestern already know.  I will be leaving Chicago to move to Washington DC in the middle of June.  I’ll finish up my fourth and final quarter of grad school in DC reporting about health and science issues on Capitol Hill.

This may not be that adventurous, since I am going with a well-respected program, but moving to my third city in 12 months is scary for me.  I need to find an apartment, learn a new transportation system and be prepared to rub elbows with reporters from media outlets all over the country—I know, my life is so tough.

Leave a Reply

