Happy Wildflower Week!

10 May

The second week of May is always Wildflower Week.  Here’s a day to celebrate what many call weeds but actually make our backyards beautiful.

I guess you could saw that wildflowers run in my blood.  My grandfather, John E. Klimas, wrote many wildflower book for the Northeastern states: Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut and New Hampshire and Vermont.  He also wrote a book on Wildflowers of Eastern America.  I always thought they were really cool and had beautiful pictures.  As you celebrate Wildflower Week, you should remember his favorite motto: Take only photos, leave only footprints.

So in honor of this, here is a picture I took of a young boy.  He is obviously taking more than photos, but I didn’t and I think it’s adorable.

Leave a Reply

