Happy Tap Dance Day!

25 May

For those of you who know me, it’s not that surprising that I tap danced as a kid, since I’m very loud.  I did all sorts of dance–ballet, jazz, lyrical, hip hop–but tap was always my favorite.

I’ll never forget the first tap routine I did in a dance recital as a little girl.  I stole the show–while everyone else performed the routine we had practiced all year, I stood still, looking down and playing with the fringe on my cowgirl costume.  I was a real star.

In a Save-the-Last-Dance-type twist, tap dancing has taken to the streets.  Check out these awesome street performers tap dancing.

One Response to “Happy Tap Dance Day!”

  1. Sara J Martinez May 25, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    I need to share with you two of my favorite tap routines. This is the greatest, ever: Gene Kelly tap dances on roller skates – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Aus1PA5-SyI

    and this number currently on Broadway in Anything Goes: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qcs09ZaskiM (It’s even better now, obviously..this was just a rehearsal).

Leave a Reply

