Happy Birthday Scary Spice!

29 May

Spice Girl Melanie Brown turns 35 today.

I was obsessed with the Spice Girls as a little kid.  They were actually the first concert I saw, at the Meadows in Connecticut.  This was in the days before Ticketmaster and the phone lines had been tied up all day.  My mother finally got through at a gas station pay phone–no cell phones yet either–and when she got lawn seats to see this British five some, I actually got excited that I almost vomited.

Not much changed over the years.  I went to see the Spice Girls yet again on their reunion tour my sophomore year in college at the TD Garden in Boston.  Not wanting to be huge tools by dressing up like members of the band, my friends and I wore matching sparkly tube tops.  I think we still looked like huge tools.

Sometimes I think I would’ve been a lot better off in life if I had listened to the advice the Spice Girls gave me through song.  When all my friends didn’t like a guy I was seeing, I should’ve remembered that if you wannabe my lover, you gotta get with my friends.  Blah day?  I obviously needed to spice up my life.

The Spice Girls were a huge chunk of my childhood–my first CD, my first concert–and I can’t believe Scary is turning 35.  In honor of this holiday, I will spend at least 10 minutes slamming my body down and winding it all around.

Leave a Reply

