Happy National Macaroon Day!

31 May

For this post, I was going to actually make macaroons myself.  While thinking about this, I remembered the first and best macaroon I’d ever had.  And, knowing that I could never live up to this macaroon with something made in my own kitchen, I abandoned the attempt and decided to relate the story of my favorite macaroon instead.

Photo from The City Sage blog

It was the perfect end to the perfect day during Spring of my senior year of college.  I had spent all day out in the sunshine with friends and headed to Quincy Market to grab a drink and some food with my then-boyfriend.  Walking through the shops in Fanueil Hall, he spotted these macaroons.  I turned my nose up at them, since I was very anti-coconut…and still am.  But he got one that was dipped half in chocolate and when we got back to his place, I agreed to take a bite.  And it was delicious.  I proceeded to eat the entire half that was dipped in chocolate, leaving the rest for him.

I’ve had a handful of macaroons since, but none like that one.  It was big and light and fluffy and delicious.  Today, I will remember the amazingness that was that macaroon.  And possibly look for a good bakery in Chicago to indulge at.

If you’re more adventurous than I am, a great recipe is featured at The City Sage blog, which is where I got the delicious looking photo from as well.

Leave a Reply

