Happy Last Day of Grad School! (to me)

25 Aug

May not be a holiday, but it’s a big event in my life and the lives of all my fellow Medillians.  But before I say goodbye to homework and classrooms for good, I just want to say some words to the rest of my cohort.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

To the Medill MSJ Summer Class of 2011-

It’s been a long year, from J-Matt’s quizzes to late nights in the newsroom to finishing up our capstone projects.  We’ve finally made it through together and I just wanted to thank you.

Thank you for being my support system and second family.  Whether personal or professional, many of you have helped me deal with problems I thought I couldn’t solve.  From deadlines that seemed impossible to frustrations with professors to feeling overwhelmed about using a P2 camera for the first time, you, my fellow Medilldos, made it all seem possible.  After spending my first Thanksgiving away from my mom, I realized that you really can pick your family and I couldn’t have asked for a better group than you.

Thank you for being my drinking buddies.  Some of my fondest memories are with this cohort.  We’re all trying to get hired here, so I won’t go into details, but thank you for helping me blow off steam when I was drowning in media law cases.

Thank you for being my competition.  When they said we were the best and brightest, they weren’t kidding.  You guys have all pushed me to go as far as I can go with a story, to keep making my reporting better and better.  But thank you too for not being catty about it.  Our newsroom has been invaluable to me to offer suggestions and tips.

I’m a sappy person to begin with, but I honestly can’t believe I have only known all of you for less than a year.  I look forward to keeping in touch and seeing you at high-powered journalism positions in the future, doing what we all love.

Leave a Reply

